LJCC Memorial Day Triathlon 2011

This weekend was Memorial Day! First off, we only have a Memorial Day because of the wonderful men and women serving in our armed forces that sacrifice their time and lives for our freedom and safety. So thanks to all of them for their service!

This Memorial Day, I participated in the LJCC Triathlon.

20110531-091810.jpg

I spent the whole weekend getting everything ready. When I got off work on Friday early, I headed to pick up a tri belt at the store and to browse some clothing. I didn’t find a tri top or suit that I loved enough to buy unfortunately. I am looking for something fabulous. Because if I am wearing head to toe tighter-than-sin-spandex, it’s going to be fabulousssss! When I find it, I will make sure to post a picture. And a picture from far away, because spandex does nothing for the bod and really isn’t cute on anyone.

20110531-092619.jpg
Def NOT putting up a pic of me clad in spandex!

I also went to pick up my new ride for the weekend. Thanks for a good friend, I had a rack now so I could transport in style, and safety on the back of the Camaro. Bumble rocked the bike rack all weekend carrying the awesome tri bike Cahaba Cycles let me borrow. We loaded up the car for a test ride! Doesn’t he look good??

20110531-092146.jpg

On Saturday, after a quick trip to Academy and Dick’s Sporting Goods, I had a new strap for my goggles, a new pair of Nike shorts (completely unrelated, those stores are a trap!), and a new UnderArmoud headband. I usually don’t like headbands that aren’t plastic and for fashion (partially because they hurt the scar on my head and pull on my hair extensions, but also partially because they make my head look funny shaped.) I went on a bike ride when I got home…and fell. Hard. It was a pretty nasty fall on a concrete trail and definitely shook my confidence there for a while. Lets just say that switching your hands from aero bars back to normal handles mid-ride, isn’t as easy as the pros make it look. I’m thinking I will go without the aero bars until I get a little better at my balance switching back and forth. . No harm no foul though, and minimal blood, so it wasn’t anything I couldn’t recover from easily! I rode a few extra miles to try and shake that one off.

On Sunday, after a test ride and a run, I went to packet-pick-up and course tour. They had a really nice facility set up and it was good to see it before actually racing. I headed home to body mark myself with the TriTats (whoo #188) and get my bag packed!

20110531-092058.jpg

Monday morning came early, but I was amped up and very awake come 6am! We had to be set up and out of transition by 7:30am, but I always like to be early and have more time than I need. So had a race day breakfast of Chobani blueberry, a banana and a granola bar and headed off! I set my area up and was ready to go!

20110531-091907.jpg

The actual race was awesome! We had a individual wave pool start, where they start the swimmers sequentially by number. The swim is my favorite part, since I swam all through high school and college, and consider it to be my strongest leg. I didn’t disappoint and clocked a great swim time, passing up quite a few people along the way. Then I transitioned to bike and set on my way for leg 2. The bike leg was brutal, and it had uphill both ways. I was definitely happy to get some of the downhill spots for a breather. In the middle of the race, as we crossed back by the venue, this random runner decided NOT to follow the cones for the running area and ran right into a biker! The collision was only about 300 feet in front of me and was so scary. Fortunately, both the runner and biker were ok. I biked on my merry way and finished up. They were really strict about the drafting rules in this race, so I had to be really careful with distance behind bikers and passing protocol. After the bike, my legs were burning, but it was time to run. They handed us a Gu pack on the way out and that was a mistake. If you have never had the original flavored Gu, it tastes like burnt honey, and when it’s hot, it makes you want to hurl. So I ran, and got to the turn around and was so excited to be almost halfway there. Wrong. You then had to turn and run up this trail into the woods for a while and do this big whole loop things before you came down and ran back. How lovely, really killed my buzz there. But eventually, the finish line approached and I was done! Great to hear your name while crossing the finish line.

20110531-092002.jpg

After the race, we headed to the food area and grabbed some refreshments. Since it was a smaller race, they were able to do the awards ceremony after the last person finished. I actually finished 2nd in my age-group, Women 20-24. There weren’t a huge number of us, but I’ll take it! They even gave us a nice little plaque thing.

20110531-091709.jpg

Overall, it was a great day. I was exhausted afterwards and ready for a shower! I spent the rest of the day relaxing, until I woke up and made myself a treat…pizza! Basil tomato sauce, mozzarella cheese, chevre goat cheese, feta cheese and ricotta cheese. It’s my favorite kind, but isn’t exactly healthy so I don’t eat it a lot, but I thought I deserved it! Bachelorette and pizza made for my kind of holiday night!

20110531-092236.jpg

So it was an overall great weekend. The Memorial Day tri means a lot to me, more for just feeling fit and accomplished. Last year was my first one, and it was exactly 9 months from the date of my brain surgery. It was the first big thing I did after being fully recovered, and really showed myself that not only was I alive, I was healthy and succeeding. I could do anything after making it through that. Being able to live my life to the fullest was all I could really ask for after everything I went through with that. So now, it’s a meaningful tradition to me. This Memorial Day was 18 months out from surgery, and just as meaningful of an accomplishment. There’s truly a difference between being alive, and living your life…and I am definitely living my life to the fullest!

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Megan@eatmybeets
    Jun 01, 2011 @ 20:03:42

    That looks awesome!! What were the distances for your triathlon?

    Reply

  2. Natalie
    Jun 02, 2011 @ 01:50:55

    Congrats on your second place finish! That’s so exciting!!

    Reply

  3. pawsitivelife
    Jun 07, 2011 @ 01:07:53

    Good job! A triathlon is definitly on my eventual to do list…sometime down the line

    Reply

  4. Katie @ Real Food Katie's Way
    Jun 13, 2011 @ 18:34:17

    Just catching up now!! GREAT JOB!!!

    I love how pizza is always the go to meal after marathons, half marathons and triathlons…You always see people going for the ‘za!!

    You’re right…Spandex aren’t the most flattering on mostly all people I’d say!

    You are SO inspiring!

    Reply

  5. Samm I Amm
    Jun 28, 2011 @ 21:53:01

    Thanks so much everyone, I appreciate your sweet words! I am looking forward to doing another tri soon, maybe in Texas later this summer??

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Disclaimer!!

My blog is nor professional advice. I'm not a chef, a nutritionist, a certified sports medicine professional or a lawyer (yet.) I'm just a girl who tries to cook healthy for herself, coaches off personal playing experience, lives by the law she knows and understands and blogs for enttertainment. Seek out a professional if you need help is any of the above categories. Thanks for reading!
