Prepping through the Problems

Everyone loves Friday! It was a pretty good day from the beginning. I had on a cute outfit that I planned all week and got to wear my new Tory Burch flats! So cute, thanks Ma.

20110527-095335.jpg

And then unfortunately, they broke. Don’t worry, they can be fixed!

20110527-095608.jpg

A little wardrobe malfunction can’t round my day though, especially when my boss told me to leave at 1:30pm! Freaking sweet. I bopped out of there after lunch and was free for the freakin’ weekend!

But I actually had a lot to do. Its race weekend baby! I dont have everything I need here in Birmingham, so I had to pick a few things up for my tri on Monday.

First up, new shades. They’re the Ironman brand shades, and fit great. I personally think they look great too haha. They also fit really well with my bike helmet.

20110527-100019.jpg

Next up was a bike helmet. Since I didn’t bring a bike to Birmingham, there wasn’t any need to bring the helmet. And I can’t legally ride without it.

Then, the bike needed some air, and that had to happen at the shop. But I don’t have a bike rack. (I’m noticing a trend here, collecting stuff I don’t have here. I’m a wreck, but am going to pull it off!) The bike had to go in the trunk. I should have bought a Tahoe, but nooo, had to have the Camaro. I suffer my own consequences. But Bumble prevailed and we made it!

20110527-100426.jpg

At the bike shop, we got the Trek all pumped up and ready to go. It’s a hybrid, and although I would rather use a road or tri bike, I am fortunate that my friend Hunter is letting me borrow it and I really appreciate it! But then…the nice bike store guy goes, I have a bike you can race on here! And rolls out a sick tri bike.

20110527-100624.jpg

So now I’m racing on this bad boy! I was told it is a good bike by the cute customer in the store who said he had it. Let me digress here for a sec, this man was b-e-a-u-tiful. For the love of all things holy, he was 6’4″ and even training for an Ironman. And then I saw his wedding ring. Another one bites the dust…NEXT.

Back to the bike. Took it on a test ride and really like it! I’m so excited. Thank youuuuu Cahaba Cycles! The shop also had the best energy food ever, my favorite! It’s so hard to find the PowerBar Energy Blast Gel Filled Chews, and they had them in both flavors! They’re kind of like, big filled funnies. And they’re super delicious I’m SO excited I found them, I even bought three bags!

20110527-102108.jpg

Then, true to form I then had a dilemma…getting the bike home. The Trek fits (kind of) in my trunk, but the tri bike is like, 6 inches taller and doesn’t stand a chance. So I made plans to pick it up tomorrow with the help of a friend who has a truck.

Buy THEN, a friend responded to my tweet about not being able to take the bike home, and offers me his strap on bike rack. People are watching out for me here! So tomorrow, I’m headed with the new bike rack, to pick up the new bike! Things really fell into place for me this weekend, thank goodness! The moral of this story is, if you plan on racing after you move, take your stuff with you! You think I would have known, lord knows I brought everything else to Alabama.

After all the shipping and errand running, I went for a practice ride on the trek. I felt good and will do another tomorrow on the tri bike. Then it was home to make dinner (beef tacos) and watch Friday Night Lights. It was such a pretty sunset and dusk after the show ended that I decided to take a little run. Needless to say, now I’m exhausted and ready for bed! And it’s 9:48pm on a Friday night. I’m too wild, I know! 😉

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Rosalva See
    May 28, 2011 @ 22:47:27

    no ifs ands or buts informative post in this blog. Most what i read online is trash and copy paste but your posts are not alike. Bravo. I like to read and advise all my friend to read this blog. Thanks for share.

    Reply

  2. Katie @ Real Food Katie's Way
    May 29, 2011 @ 17:54:40

    Loving the bike in the trunk of your car!! Priorities priorities! Cute shoes!

    Reply

  3. pawsitivelife
    May 31, 2011 @ 02:08:38

    LOVE LOVE the shoes!! very stylish!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Disclaimer!!

My blog is nor professional advice. I'm not a chef, a nutritionist, a certified sports medicine professional or a lawyer (yet.) I'm just a girl who tries to cook healthy for herself, coaches off personal playing experience, lives by the law she knows and understands and blogs for enttertainment. Seek out a professional if you need help is any of the above categories. Thanks for reading!
