Feeling Alive!

Happy Wednesday! Or hump day, to those who like to use that terminology. Personally, I hate it. It doesn’t give a dirty connotation to me or anything, I actually have only started hating it since moving to Alabama. Here in ‘Bama (as the locals calls it), we have speed humps. Now…what in GOD’s name is a speed hump? That would be the Alabama version of a speed bump. Why they call it that, I am sure there is a great story, but I just don’t know it yet. Should I ever find out, you’ll be the first to know.

20110525-092222.jpg

20110525-092243.jpg

I completed registration for the triathlon here in Birmingham today! Way to wait until the last minute…did I mention this race is on Monday? Like, this Monday. You only live once, right? Memorial Day tris are becoming a tradition for me, and have a significance believe it or not. Last year, I did CapTex tri with Fit Chick Britt, and it was on the 9 month anniversary of having my brain tumor removed.

20110525-092927.jpg

So this Memorial Day is the 18 month anniversary! That means 18 months healthy and still kickin’ over here! The tri originally was kind of a bucket list thing for me, and I guess it still is. Shows me not only am I alive, but I’m doing pretty darn well and really living my life to the fullest. Next Memorial Day in Texas again!

But now that I’m registered, that means I have spent the past 2 weeks in crunch time to get ready! It’s a sprint, so I think I can handle it. The registration process had me estimate my finishing time…and I think I did a very bad job. How am I supposed to be able to do that? I’m not a timer when I bike or anything. Note to self, start that because I might have told them double the time it will actually take me…hopefully.

So back to the whole, I don’t LOVE running thing from the other day. The one thing that makes me really enjoy running (and at the same time makes running in a triathlon such a pain) is music! I always have my iPod of iPhone with me when I am running to jam to some tunes. I am a country fan for the most part, but when I am running, I like to have songs on with a good fast beat so I run to keep up with it. It tends to make me faster, and if I really like the songs, it makes time pass very quickly! I busted out my old iPod last night and listened to a playlist that came from my college volleyball warm-up CD. Check these throw-backs out…

David Banner-Get Like Me
FloRida-In the Ayer
Lil Wayne-Got Money (remix)
Savage-Swing
Pussycat Dolls-When I Grow Up
Nickleback-Animals
Linkin Park-Away from You
Dem Franchise Boys/Korn-Coming Undone with It
Remy Ma-Conceited
Mims-Like This
3 Doors Down-Ticket to Heaven
Timbaland-She Got It
Brittney Spears-Overprotected

SWEEEEEET playlist huh? Brought me back to college definitely. Liked it so much I’m going to use it again tomorrow haha I can’t use an iPod during the race, so I am winging it there.

Tonight was softball night for the firm. I was all excited because I got new Nike shorts to match my uniform and it was the first time I was going to wear them! Ok, ridiculous I know, but first of all I really like matching, and second of all, I am always looking for an excuse to get new Nike shorts! Baby blue, white and navy is totally cute, and matches my jersey perfectly! I probably look better than I play, but that’s what matters right? I play catcher and am absolutely not the star of the team. But the rules state a girl has to be on the field at all times, and they usually hit the ball so I don’t have to do too much. Regardless, it’s a really fun time!

20110525-092403.jpg

20110525-092456.jpg

We won tonight, again! So far, CWCD is undefeated for the season…going all the way baby! After the game, we had an awesome dinner at Outakes in Homewood, AL. The chicken tettrazini was just to die for The owner was so nice and packed me a to-go container for lunch tomorrow! If you’re in the area, definitely check it out for lunch.

After a long day or work and play, I’m catching a quick episode of Criminal Minds while ironing my shirt for tomm, and hopefully not scaring the daylights out of myself so that I can sleep! Goodnight!

Leave a Reply

Disclaimer!!

My blog is nor professional advice. I'm not a chef, a nutritionist, a certified sports medicine professional or a lawyer (yet.) I'm just a girl who tries to cook healthy for herself, coaches off personal playing experience, lives by the law she knows and understands and blogs for enttertainment. Seek out a professional if you need help is any of the above categories. Thanks for reading!
