The Day the Lights Went out in Alabama

April 27th, 2011 is a day that will live in infamy for Alabama.

Yesterday morning, we were woken up to tornado sirens at 5:19am. Most of the city immediately lost power and the heavy rains commenced. After a few hours, the weather returned to normal and we went on with our days.

Looming over our heads was the weather service’s warning that “the worst is yet to come.”

The worst was an understatement of what was to come. Come 3:30pm, warnings spread across the state of massive tornadoes and impending damage. Birmingham itself didn’t see bad weather until around 5:30pm. By then, I had made it home to an apartment complex with no power and slews of worried neighbors. We battened down the hatches and weathered out the storm in a first floor apartment. Fortunately, the storm skirted south Birmingham and we did not take a direct hit.

Others were not so fortunate. Many cities in Alabama were beyond devastated, some even leveled. Entire cities were destroyed. The death count is over 200, with countless others still missing. Thousands are displaced and stranded without homes to return to.

Without power, it took a while for most of us to realize the gravity of the situation. I myself didn’t realize it until I met a fellow Samford student at WalMart while I was purchasing candles to rerun to my apartment. While I laughed about how unprepared I was by not having a single candle in my house, he answered in return that he went home tonight and no longer had a house. It broke my heart to hear someone have their life ruined like that, and it was then that I realized just how bad this round of storms was.

I was so fortunate to not suffer any serious damage, and am so appreciative of everyone that checked in on me to ensure my safety. Thank you everyone for your thoughts and concern! I spent a good portion of the night at the law school where there was power, and only returned to my apartment to sleep for a while. Sometime today, the power here fortunately did come back on.

But the sun came in in Alabama today, and it will be out again tomorrow. The state will rebuild, and the people will help each other out. It is tragic events like this that show the good in humanity and brings communities together. If you were fortunate enough to survive the storm, make sure you give to others an help those who were not as fortunate.

Pray for Alabama…lord knows it is needed right now.

20110429-120015.jpg

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Katie @ Real Food Katie's Way
    Apr 29, 2011 @ 12:13:41

    I was thinking about you this week for sure….I am SO glad you are OK!! Where I come from, that’s is just unbelievable. We hear about twisters in touching down in our province but it never affects the city I live in…As of yet that is!

    I was watching some video clips of it, and, well it’s absolutely shocking….The mass devastation that the State of Alabama has experienced is absolutely heartbreaking!

    I am so happy you are OK dear!

    Reply

  2. Natalie
    Apr 29, 2011 @ 18:01:09

    I’m so sorry. It sounds like the storms were just devastating. My thoughts are with you…and the rest of the affected Alabamians.

    Reply

  3. pawsitivelife
    Apr 29, 2011 @ 22:27:42

    How Im so sorry you had to go through that. Thats uber scary. I didnt hear anything about it up my way…weird.

    Reply

  4. Samm I Amm
    May 04, 2011 @ 01:00:54

    Thanks for your thoughts everyone! Alabama hasn’t seen decastation like this in a very long time, as it seems as if the situation will get worse before it get better It iis going to take a long time to get the state back to normal, but there is so much heart sown here and everyone is really pitching in to help. God bless Alabama!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Disclaimer!!

My blog is nor professional advice. I'm not a chef, a nutritionist, a certified sports medicine professional or a lawyer (yet.) I'm just a girl who tries to cook healthy for herself, coaches off personal playing experience, lives by the law she knows and understands and blogs for enttertainment. Seek out a professional if you need help is any of the above categories. Thanks for reading!
