An apple tart a day keeps the doctor away!

Happy Saturday! Hope everyone had a lovely day 🙂 it really looked lovely outside here in Birmingham from the big windows of the library! No real surprise that I spent the day studying, but I made some head way today with easements and land zoning.

And then we got kicked out of the library at 5pm. Apparently there’s a holiday or something this weekend, idk Easter (haha) and the library is now closed until Tuesday morning. I swung by Old Navy on the way home and picked up some new shorts. SO excited because they were on sale and had all the colors I wanted!

When I got home, I ate some leftover pasta from last night and then decided to bake. I bought some awesome granny smith apples yesterday at the store and was in the mood to make something with them! My first through was a tart. Then I realized that I don’t really know how to make a tart…hmm. So I decided to wing it! I didn’t have enough dry ingredients to make an actual batter, but I did have the trust Duncan Hines box mix. Always have to keep one in the back of the cabinet for emergencies!

I mixed one box of cake mix with a 3/4 of water and two tablespoons of Chobani plain Greek Yogurt. Noeggs, no oil because eggs and oil make it rise like cake, and I wanted more of a crust texture. I chopped up one granny smith apple and one Bartlett pear, then tossed them with McCormick’s cinnamon sugar.

Spread a layer of the batter on the bottom of the pan, then pour the fruit mixture on top.

20110424-122029.jpg

Then in top of the, spread the rest of the batter. 30 minutes in the oven at 350 degrees and you’re done! It came out golden brown and crispy, with softened fruit that made it’s way all through the “tart.” Drizzle some caramel over the top and you have a dessert! Its way easy, and kind if like cheat baking haha. So good!

20110424-122333.jpg

After baking, I got sucked into watching the William & Kate movie on Lifetime. Twice. How sad is that? I’m a sucker for a good love story! Wine, good dessert and a love movie…I’m a happy girl!

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Fit Chick Britt
    Apr 24, 2011 @ 14:41:18

    This sounds so good and easy! Just what I like 🙂 What color shorts did you end up with?

    Reply

    • Samm I Amm
      Apr 25, 2011 @ 03:55:35

      Thanks! I got white regular shorts and some black Bermudas! They’ll go with my coaching pills for this week (my pants ate getting HOT!) and I can wear them all through the summer too!

      Reply

  2. Natalie
    Apr 27, 2011 @ 03:21:22

    YUM! Your apple tart looks delicious…and easy too.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Disclaimer!!

My blog is nor professional advice. I'm not a chef, a nutritionist, a certified sports medicine professional or a lawyer (yet.) I'm just a girl who tries to cook healthy for herself, coaches off personal playing experience, lives by the law she knows and understands and blogs for enttertainment. Seek out a professional if you need help is any of the above categories. Thanks for reading!
