Rain Rain, GO AWAY! Top 10 Rainy Day Movies

So I haven’t posted in 2 days…miss me? The reason is, that absolutely nothing is going on. I wake up, I go to school, I study, and I o home. I haven’t eaten anything cool, I haven’t done anything exciting, I have been a giant bump on a study lob (chair) in the library.

So after surviving the tornado last week and getting a solid 1 day of sun…its thunderstorming again. And all I want to do when it thunderstorms, is sit on the chaise lounge in the living room and watch a great movie.

But what is a great movie? for me, its usually a love story. I’m such a closet sap, and just can’t resist a happy ending for everyone. So in my opinion, here are the top 10 movies that everyone should be watching on a gloomy, rainy day. So here we go, in no particular order…

!. Diary of a Mad Black Woman-Who does’t love Madea and the perfect love story? Humor, love, drama…it has it all!  That and Orlando (who is actually Agent Morgan from Criminal Minds) is one FINE man. I could watch him profess his love all day long.

2. Casper the Friendly Ghost, 1995 Version-I should have ranked this as number 1. It sounds totally lame because its a remake of a cartoon, but i has great menaing behing it.  I cry every single time, no matter what, and its not even sad! Its just the cutest movie ever. And Devon Sawa was a total stud when he was 14, (see Little Giants for reference.)

3. Varsity Blues-The James Van der Beek glory days. It has football, it has hot men, it has Texas. What more can I ask for in a movie? Oh, and he gets the girl in the end.

4. The Replacements-Again, football, hot men, guy gets girl. The perfect plot for the perfect movie about living the dream. And who wouldn’t want John Madden to narrate the perfect first kiss scene?

5. Top Gun-“You’ve lost that loving feeling” is probably the best wingman scene ever put in a movie to this day. They were sick pilots, best friends and complete studs. And once again in the end…he got the girl.And this time, that girl was smoking hot enough to have an androgenous call sign and in charge of half the military. In this case, I”ll reverse it..she got her man.

6. Sweet Home Alabama-Classic city clicker v. cowboy decision for a nice Southern girl. Not only did he get to pick her own ring at Tiffanys (I wouldn’t have been able to pick a ring because I would have passed out the minute McDreamy said “pick one.”) but she landed hottie McSouthern and married her true love.  Its partially one of the reasons I moved to Alabama, I can’t lie. I pray one day my short hair looks as cute as hers did!

7. Love and Basketball-You’re probably seeing a trend here, but I am such a sucker for a sporting love story. High school sweethearts become collegre sweethearts become pro athletes and always love each other…freaking precious. You know its true love when you lose the 1-on-1 game that you challenged him to for a second chance,and he still gives in and doesn’t let you walk away.

7.  Dirty Dancing-Such a classic! I didn’t understand a lot of it until I was older, but the dancing and the love story speak for itself. RIP Patrick Swayze, you absolutely rocked. Nothing says it better than the move by-line…first dance, first love, the time of your life.

9.Pearl Harbor-the ONLY 3 hour movie that I will sit through and probably cry for like 85% of it. A military love story, another military love story and two best friends. And for best friends, Josh Harnett and Ben Affleck are the pick of the litter. I feel for the girls, thats a hard choice!

10. Beauty and the Beast-Disney does everything right, enough said.

 Ok, so now you know my secret obsession with love stories! I know I need to be studying for finals and shouldnt be doing anything else, but I think that I deserve a break to watch one of them either tonight  or this weekend…sounds like a GREAT Friday night activity for me with a nice dinner! Or maybe a Wednesday night activity haha? 😉

So…whats your favorite movie to watch on a rainy day, or just whenever?

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Fit Chick Britt
    Apr 20, 2011 @ 18:11:57

    You’ve told me to watch Diary of a Mad Black Woman, but I haven’t yet. I totally agree with you on Dirty Dancing and Varsity Blues. My rainy day movies would be Where the Heart Is, The Notebook, and Now and Then.

    Reply

  2. pawsitivelife
    Apr 20, 2011 @ 23:20:29

    Its freezing rain in Canada! It rained all last weekend too, so I did watch a lot of movies (i never feel guilty doing that during rain). I have a thing for sport movies (but only football), and i see you have many on your list

    Reply

  3. Natalie
    Apr 21, 2011 @ 02:21:02

    Great list! I love watching movies when it’s rainy outside.

    Reply

  4. Bobby
    Apr 23, 2011 @ 00:09:18

    Love and Basketball is a Great movie.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Disclaimer!!

My blog is nor professional advice. I'm not a chef, a nutritionist, a certified sports medicine professional or a lawyer (yet.) I'm just a girl who tries to cook healthy for herself, coaches off personal playing experience, lives by the law she knows and understands and blogs for enttertainment. Seek out a professional if you need help is any of the above categories. Thanks for reading!
