Tournaments and T-shirts

Today was day 1 of the Bama Juniors tournament. We played at Hoover High (you might recognize the name from MTV’s show ‘Two a Days.’) Fortunately, it’s not far. Unfortunately, there wasn’t a Starbuck in the near vicinity that I could find. Usually coffee is a must on coaching days and I’m a total coffee snob, so I insist on a cup of Pike’s Place from Starbucks. In the absence of my venti, I opted for a large Diet Dr. Pepper and cut my losses. Tomorrow, I’ll know better and get my fix at the Starbucks by my house or wake up early and brew it myself. The second option doesn’t look probable.

Coaches Corner: Prepare yourself for a tournament and be ready for anything. Like an extraordinarily warm gym environment to play in. At Big South we were freezing, today at Hoover we were roasting warm. Make sure to have a backup clothing choice in case you need to layer on or take something off. Today I had to change from pants to shorts because I was so hot! Fortunately, I was well prepared with some extra coaching clothes in the car.

The tournament went well. We took every match to 3 games, but couldn’t seem to pull it out. The 17s division has good competition and I am happy with how the girls played. We had some line-up changes today and had to rotate our defense, but the girls adjusted well.

20110416-095506.jpg

Tournament Tip: Tell your players beforehand if they are switching position. Tell them even if it’s not definite too! While we assume all the players know every position, and they vaguely do, notice gives them the opportunity to review the position the night before and study the movements. All players have binders with position sheets in them, and can utilize them to study and prepare themselves to play a new position and benefit the team.

So tomorrow is bracket play. We knew that there was always a possibility we could okay another Sting team, and that is now happening tomorrow! We are playing our 17-1 team first thing. Its single elimination, so only one Sting team will advance unfortunately. Were so excited to play them, because we scrimmage all the time (and can definitely win!) It will be a Sting showdown for sure, may the best team win!

After the tournament, I ran by Academy and Dicks. I don’t have either located near me, and I wanted some new shorts. I scored these babies to wear tomorrow in team colors! They’re going to look awesome. (They’re from the LiveStong line, so they benefit the charity as well!)

20110416-100042.jpg

I also scored a sweet t-shirt at the tournament today, in neon green and yellow. It’s totally fun. I got 00 on the side for my number since they didn’t have a “C” for Coach or a “CC” for Commander in Chief, as we like to refer to the coaching position.

20110416-100553.jpg

So the new t-shirts got me thinking while j was home later that afternoon. I really needed to organize my laundry room and drawers, because my t-shirts are taking over! I have them stacked in the laundry room, shoved in the drawers in no order, and needs to get things in check!

20110416-100814.jpg

I wasn’t kidding when I said I have a lot! I’m a t-shirt collector! Not hoarder, collector haha. So I ironed them all, spray starched, folded, stacked according to size, color, and frequency of wear (yes, I have my favs!)

20110416-100945.jpg

I felt muchhhhh better after clearing out the laundry room and getting the shirts all put up nicely. An organized house makes my life feel neat and tidy!

20110416-102135.jpg

After handling my neurotic tendencies of laundry folding, I had a little dinner and settled in for the night with the Federal Rules of Evidence I absolutely adore Chinese food but don’t truly want to know how bad it is for me! So as a treat for dinner tonight I steamed some veggie and pork dumplings up and ate them with a little soy. It was awesome!

20110416-101503.jpg

I hope everyone had a fabulous Saturday! Stay tuned for updates on the Sting showdown tomorrow 🙂

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Fit Chick Britt
    Apr 18, 2011 @ 02:01:42

    cute shorts! they match bumble bee. Those dumplings look yummy!

    Reply

  2. Natalie
    Apr 18, 2011 @ 03:06:38

    SUPER cute shorts! You and your girls look adorable, congrats on many successes. My husband is neurotic about folding laundry too…must be a lawyer-to-be thing 😉

    Reply

    • Samm I Amm
      Apr 18, 2011 @ 16:22:10

      That is SO funny, it must be! Law students tend to be organization neurotic I am learning. Good luck to him on the Bar Exam (and with your laundry!)

      Reply

  3. Meri
    Apr 18, 2011 @ 03:38:16

    haha- I can be a coffee snob sometimes too- either good coffee or I’ll go for a diet coke instead 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Disclaimer!!

My blog is nor professional advice. I'm not a chef, a nutritionist, a certified sports medicine professional or a lawyer (yet.) I'm just a girl who tries to cook healthy for herself, coaches off personal playing experience, lives by the law she knows and understands and blogs for enttertainment. Seek out a professional if you need help is any of the above categories. Thanks for reading!
