A Special Monday “Wake-up”

I actually don’t mind Mondays, believe it or not. First class doesn’t start until 10 and I only have 2 classes, so it’s not that bad. But in the hustle and bustle of life an law school, sometimes I fall back into the mindset of wanting more hours of the day and forgetting to be happy to for what I have. So instead of my regular Drill of the Day and volleyball recap, I had something else on my mind.

Fortunately, the universe always tends to know when that happens and gives me a little help! That came this morning in the form of a wake-up phone call. I got a phone call from a girl named Caitlin in Houston, back home. I met Caitlin through my aunt, who was good friends with her aunt. We became friends because we both had a common bond…a juvenile brain tumor resulting in craniotomies. (One of these days, I’ll out a post up about my experience, so stay tuned.) I “mentored” her through her surgery and recovery. I italicize the word mentor because that’s not how I see it, I really was just her friend who had been there and done that. She called this morning to just ask a question of advice and to see how I was. Talking to someone with shared experiences is great because she knows exactly what to ask and say. Talking to her was great because it reminds me that I am very fortunate for everything and every opportunity that I have. She isn’t completely out of the woods yet, so I think about her a lot. I respect her a lot for handling everything with grace an being incredibly strong. It was great to chat this morning and really put me in a great mood to start off the week.

Coincidently, the Make a Wish episode of Cake Boss was on tonight. I think the universe is trying to tell me something right about now. I’m one to listen, so it’s probably time to pay it a little forward and do some good out there.

Unfortunately, my time constraints and lack of a full time job do not allow me to do charity and contribute what I should, so I have to give back where I can. Hopefully one day soon, I can be able to contribute more to the world!

So, the moral of the story is, be happy and thankful for your life and the opportunities therein. Everyday you are 6 feet over as opposed to 6 feel under is a GREAT day. Everyday is a chance to be a positive force in the world.

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Fit Chick Britt
    Apr 12, 2011 @ 13:55:30

    Great post Samm! I know I surely could remember to be thankful for my life and opportunites I have. Thanks for the reminder.

    Reply

  2. Michelle
    Apr 12, 2011 @ 21:18:12

    You have a great attitude! I definitely need to keep this post in mind when I’m having a rough day.

    Reply

  3. pawsitivelife
    Apr 13, 2011 @ 00:17:31

    There are so many people going through tougher times than we are. It so easy to forget that sometimes as we get busy with our own lives. thanks for a great post

    Reply

  4. Natalie
    Apr 13, 2011 @ 03:22:26

    Thanks for the reminder to focus on the important things in life. We are lucky in so many ways!

    Reply

  5. Meri
    Apr 13, 2011 @ 03:32:12

    I would have to assume that your positivity rubs off on others? Keep it up!

    Reply

  6. Samm I Amm
    Apr 13, 2011 @ 05:44:37

    Thanks for the comments ladies, I really appreciate it! All of you are fabulous and I appreciate the positivity you add to my blog and life!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Disclaimer!!

My blog is nor professional advice. I'm not a chef, a nutritionist, a certified sports medicine professional or a lawyer (yet.) I'm just a girl who tries to cook healthy for herself, coaches off personal playing experience, lives by the law she knows and understands and blogs for enttertainment. Seek out a professional if you need help is any of the above categories. Thanks for reading!
