Pork…the other OTHER white meat.

Happy Sunday funday! Usually I don’t get Sunday fundays, but I kind of made way for one today. I slept in a little bit, ate some breakfast and went to Old Navy and picked up a few things. I’m so excited, they had the same sandals that I bought last year and absolutely loved again but wore into the ground. I bought 2 pairs this time along with some cute navy shorts.

Remember how I said yesterday how I couldn’t decide whether to hole away in the library, or hit the pool and study? Guess which I picked?

20110410-104029.jpg

You got it, the pool. I call it “extreme studying.” It was just too beautiful of a day to be stuck inside. Also, my spray tan from Barrister’s Ball is fading and I needed some color, so why not kill 2 birds with one stone? Well I spent the next 5 hours at the pool with a ton of other Cumberland students reading Contracts, discussing Civ Pro, doing some harmless gossip and bronzing the bod. Come 5pm, I had learned about substantial performance and one three steps past bronze. No more pale legs for me! Although, I definitely should have rolled over and tanned the backside more, as I have a lovely stripe going down the side! Along with tanning unevenly, I also got about 20 minutes of treading deep water in for some exercise.

I headed home to cook some dinner. Sundays are big dinner nights for me and I like to cook a big meal, especially when friends are coming over! So the menu was seasoned pork tenderloin, creamed mashed potatoes, lemon pepper corn and asparagus tips with sea salt.

20110410-104828.jpg

First up was the pork, which is totally easy. Get a regular pork tenderloin. I bought mine at Publix and it wasn’t very expensive for such a nice cut of meat. Place it on a large piece of foil then coat with a dry rub of salt, pepper, lemon pepper and chipolte spice. Then cover it with half a can of rotel tomato sauce, you can use mild or spicy. (I use spicy to compliment the thick layer of chipolte spice I rubbed on.) Wrap the pork up, cook for 45 minutes at 350 degrees. Let it rest for about 10 minutes and slice. Thanks mom for teaching me the recipe, you rock!

20110410-105046.jpg

*The recipe works for beef tenderloin as well, but use more of the dry rub and less of the liquid tomatoes due to the moisture content of the meat. Pork has to be fully cooked and needs the moisture from the tomatoes as opposed to beef, which can be cooked less and maintains it’s own moisture.

Next was the creamed mashed potatoes and veggies Everyone knows how to make Yukon gold mashed potatoes, it’s fool proof. I don’t really like the super buttery taste, but want some flavor so I add a big scoop of sour cream, a scoop of regular Greek yogurt, sea salt and pepper. Gives it a nice flavor without going Paula Deen style and loading up on the butter. The corn and asparagus (actually left over from the other night) are self explanatory. Dinner turned out great and we had lots of fun. I also managed to dole out 2 more meals into Tupperware to eat later this week!

After cooking, it was time to get back to studying :/ I made about 50 more Civ Pro notecards. I am the queen of the notecards over here, and will not disappoint this semester. By the time I’m done, I’ll have around 300. These babies are golden too so I’m keeping them. By the time the bar exam comes around (in 2013, cringe!) I’ll have my study materials already completed and be good to go! So scary to think I’m already studying for an exam that is over 2 years away.

20110410-111713.jpg

Now that I have finished some substantial studying, I’m packing for tomorrow. I have practice tomorrow night and would like go straight there from the library, so I’m taking my coaching clothes to school. That way, I can make up for any study time I will miss because of practice. Practice tomorrow will be HARD because I want the girls to be ready for the 17s division at Alabama Jrs this coming weekend.

Well, I feel great now (and look great thanks to my new tan!). I hope everyone had a great Sunday funday of your own and did something fabulous!

Leave a Reply

Disclaimer!!

My blog is nor professional advice. I'm not a chef, a nutritionist, a certified sports medicine professional or a lawyer (yet.) I'm just a girl who tries to cook healthy for herself, coaches off personal playing experience, lives by the law she knows and understands and blogs for enttertainment. Seek out a professional if you need help is any of the above categories. Thanks for reading!
