Extreme Couponing…don’t mind if I do!

So last night after practice, I got sucked in to watching season 2 of TLC’s Extreme Couponing. Little did I know it would peak such an itnerest in me! These women in the show are crazy determined to save every bit they can. One of them bought $1K worth of groceries for $49…thats amazing! If you haven’t seen the show, check it out on Wednesday nights on TLC.

So I got to thinking. Well, I grocery shop. I usually use my Randalls or Kroger card to get some savings, and always look for the Publix deals. But I never get the weekly adds or print off the coupons, or go through the Val-Pack that comes in the mail to my apartment. But why don’t I? If I HAVE to buy groceries, then why DON’T I save on things? And from this little mental discussion I decided to go on a new venture…couponing.

Note I said couponing, not extreme couponing. I have a one bedroom apartment in Birmingham, Alabama, that just can’t hold a stockpile to feel a family of 5 for 36 months. But I can get the food and necessities to live for a better price and save myself some money. Law school is already costing me a fortune and since I’m no Mary Wise in volleyball coaching with a massive salary, I should take the deals I can get!

I gave it a start this morning, first by doing some old-fashioned google work, and then diving a little deeper into it. A few hours later, I have 11 iPhone applications, a registration with CouponMom, a Public coupon card and countless servers set to email me with new coups! The great thing is, you can print the majority of the coupons right from the internet!

Steal the Deal:

Chobani: They offer weekly coupons you can register on their website to have sent weekly to your email. This weeks is a coupon for $0.30/6oz cup and $.50/32oz cup. A great coupon to help you eat healthy for less!

Other great deals I found at Publix were on topilet paper, Aleve, Claritan, Glade products and BOGO Power Bars!

I will be hitting up Publix tonight with my new coupon, as I am out of yougurt and a few other items I forgot to tpick up this weekend, like toilet paper. Being that Chobani is already on sale there, its an even better deal! So, I’m not going to turn into some lunatic who will ONLY buy something if there’s a coupon for it, and who will buy something just because its on sale although I don’t need it…promise. Its kind of like a fun challenge. But I am always thinking of ways to try and save money, so we shall see how this goes!

Hope everyone had a fabulous day! It’s getting moe and more spring-like down here in Alabama, despite our recent cold front.  Granted, I haven’t felt the cold yet because I have been hunkered down in the library all day studying for Property! The good news is, class schedules for the Fall are being posted and I have gotten into the Constitutional LAw course that I wanted! The simple pleaasures in life…Chobani and Consitutitonal Law. What more could a law student ask for?

Have you seen any great deals lately? Do you coupon and have any good tips for me? Feel free to share them with me here, or tweet at me @SAHorwitch!

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Katie @ Real Food Katie's Way
    Apr 08, 2011 @ 12:07:43

    I am so not a couponer….Though you would think I would be because I am so CHEAP! Couponing is a commitment that I just can’t get myself to make!

    So if you haven’t guessed by now, no I don’t have any tips 😉

    Reply

  2. Meri
    Apr 08, 2011 @ 19:29:17

    I feel like I want an “assistant” to do my couponing- I always hit the grocery store after work and I just want to get my favorite foods and then get home. I have seen some pretty good ones for whole foods though, and usually check through the rainbow foods circulars before I go there on weekends.

    Reply

  3. pawsitivelife
    Apr 08, 2011 @ 23:46:57

    HA! I am a huge couponer, but in Canada its harder to coupon than in the states. I have a coupon binder and the whole deal. Saves sooooo much money. A cashier once told me that they never seen someone my age use coupons! Its a little too addictive.

    Reply

    • Samm I Amm
      Apr 10, 2011 @ 15:30:10

      That’s awesome that you’re so good at it, especially if it’s harder up there! Lord knows there’s tons of coupons here, but it’ll take some time to master it. It can be really addictive, I catch myself browsing online coupon sites and completely lose track of time. I would love to get to your point someday!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Disclaimer!!

My blog is nor professional advice. I'm not a chef, a nutritionist, a certified sports medicine professional or a lawyer (yet.) I'm just a girl who tries to cook healthy for herself, coaches off personal playing experience, lives by the law she knows and understands and blogs for enttertainment. Seek out a professional if you need help is any of the above categories. Thanks for reading!
