Home in Houston!

Ok…what a week! I haven’t been posting because I have been home in Houston on vacation for spring break! This week was absolutely amazing even though it was very short. Going home is always awesome, because I raelly do have a great hometown full of awesome people that I love. And since I was SO busy hanging out with people and running around, I didn’t get the chance to blog. Here’s the rundown of my Houston trip… 

Starting with Monday, day of travel. I’m lucky that I had a good friend in Birmingham to driop me at the airport, so I didnt have to pay for parking. All was well until I actually got in the airport. Apparently the weather in Houston was bad, which meant that  all the flights in Birmingham were delayed. My 12:00pm flight turns into 1:00, then 2:00, then 4:15pm. I’m getting worried in the airport that I am not going to make it home in time for the rodeo! God help me I miss Kid Rock perform, and heads will just roll. So FINALLY, I get on the plane and make it back to Houston. Dad picks me up, we rush home and I change and head to the Houston Livestock Show and Rodeo. with my best guy friend! Kid Rock was FABULOUS! He does an amazing job in concert. I haven’t ever seen him perform before, but he rocked. I’m glad he played some of the old school songs and not just the new stuff. I used to live for “Cowboy” and “Bawidabaw” back in high school!

If you’re not from Houston, you might not completely get the esense of the rodeo, but its just an experience. We had sausage on a stick, had  few beers, saw some friends and watched the rodeo events go down. I only wish I could have been in town for more of it, but at least I made it for one night!

So the second full day in Houston was terrific. I started off wedding dress shopping with my girlfriend Nancy, who is marryong one of my best guy friends. She looked amazing in every single dress! I can’t post any pictures, because that would give away the suprise, but stay tuned for wedding photos in November! Congratulations to the future Mr. and Mrs. Lance Wilson!

Then I took a special visit to see my “nephew” Rayden. Rayden is the son of a close friend of mine, Matt, and his wife Lyndsay. Matt is in the US Navy, stationed at Little Creek, VA, and will be shipping out next week to Libya for 10 months. His son is only 7 months old and Lynds is doing a great job raising him on her own while he is gone. I love going to visit him, because hes just so previous. This boy will be breaking hearts in no time!

Later that night was girls night out! I have some fabulous girlfriends from high school, and we make it a point to get together whenever I am in town. We always meet at La Cabana, a Mexican food restaurant in Spring, and have margaritas! It is always so fun to catch up, dish the drama and just have a great time. (You might recognize one of them…thats Fit chick Birtt!)

On Wednesday, it was time for interviewing! I am looking for a cummer clerkship in Houston in the field of environmental law or oil and gas corporate law. I love the downtown Houston area and would love to work down there again. So everyone thinkg REALLY GOOD thoughts and hope that I get one of these jobs so I can come home for the summer!

I decided to spend that night hanging with the family. We are Medican food from Papasitos, one of the best restaurants around, and watched Survivor and Storage Wars. My family’s guilty pleasure is reality TV, and we love watching all our shows together. It was fun to hang out with them for a little bit, and to see our puppy! Sox is the funniest little dog ever, and wasn’t gung-ho about me forcing her to take pictures all night haha!

On Thursday, just a short time after ariving in Houston…it was time to leave again 😦 I headed to the Houston airport. I was so excited to be selected for the body scanner, because I raelly wanted to know what the hype was all about! It was about…nothing. So anti-climatic, I was totally bummed. You literally step in, let the thing spin aroudn you twice, and then step back out. Seriously America, we spent months and protests and energy actually complaining about that little thing?! What a bust.

Grabbed breakfast, made it to the gate, and of course…all hell broke loose. I am like kryptonite for air travel apparently, because nothing went right on the way home. After my original flight was delayed 4 times, it was finally cancelled, as was the next flight to Birmingham. Apparently there is a flight attendant shortage, and the one assigned to our flight decided she didn’t want to work. How lovely of her! The next flight was cancelled too, but I managed to grab a standby seat on a 1pm flight and get home to Birmingham finally!

After a quick trip to the grocery store and a shower, my best friend from Texas drove into Alabama for a visit. Birmi ngham, we have RED RAIDER INVASION! Melinda, my best friend, her boyfriend Sam and his brother Jack, are staying with me for the next three days and I am just exstatic to see them! We only get to visit about once a year, so this visit is really special. She is my first visitor in my new apartment! We started their visit off at Dave’s Pizza in Homewood, AL, which is a favorite of mine. Unforunately, everything closes early on Thursdays and we were too late to go to Yogurt Mountain 😦 good thing it is open tomorrow!

Ok…PHEW, thats it! What a whirlwind trip to Houston, but it was SO worth it. I hope everyone is having a great Spring Break, has anyone done anything fun? I’m returning to th real world life of a 1L with the appellate brief looming over my head, law week spproaching and my taxes that really need to be finished. But for now, I am going to enjoy sleeping in my own bed for a night and getting some sleep! Happy St. Patrick;s Day everyone, enjoy your green beer!

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. You know who
    Mar 21, 2011 @ 03:30:07

    nice blog, nice pix

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Disclaimer!!

My blog is nor professional advice. I'm not a chef, a nutritionist, a certified sports medicine professional or a lawyer (yet.) I'm just a girl who tries to cook healthy for herself, coaches off personal playing experience, lives by the law she knows and understands and blogs for enttertainment. Seek out a professional if you need help is any of the above categories. Thanks for reading!
