Hotlanta baby!

There is nothing better than a girl’s roadtrip! Last night, 4 of us coaches hopped in the car and drove the 2 hours (well, 3 if you count the time change) to Hot-lanta USA for the NAVBC Tournament the next day. Fellow coaches end up being some of your closest friends, because between practice, driving to tournament, the tournaments, driving home from tournaments and other club event, you spend a lot of time together! It is always great to lik e and enjoiy the people you work with, especially since work isnt always a cake walk. You won’t find a crack team of coaches like THIS anywhere else…

After a lovely night of player meetings, patrolling the hotel for wild 13 year olds who think it is cool to race the elevators in the Mariott and re-runs of “Say Yes to the Dress,” we slept a mealsy 5 hours before waking up and heading to the tournament. Fortunately, the GPS found a Starbucks, because we knew it would be a long day.

(sidenote, check out how fab our new coaching tops are…love them. Just wait until I bust out the Vegas gold one.)

I can’t say it was the best tournament we have ever had. The girls started slow, which I wrote off to an early start time on a Saturday. I thought they had proved my theory right when they won the second game of match 1. But no, that was about all they had in the tank that day. Match 2 and 3 went rough to say the least, it was like the girls weren’t even there. So after Match 3, when I had no voice and nothing positive left to say, I decided it was time to change comething.

TOURNAMENT TIP: Try to motivate your team in different ways. Soemtimes, they might need encouragement, other time they need some team bonding excersizes, and finally, they might need a little tough love by getting mad. You know your team best, putting you in the position to give them the treatment that will best motivate them to plkay hard and work together.

Tough love is what mine got. After match 3, I decided that it was time to just be mad. They havent ever seen me mad before, but there is a first time for everything. they were instructed to speak to now one, to stay as a team and to get to thinking about how they had plkayed. Then I left to go watch the 17’s play. 2 hours later, I returned for the start of our match without saying a word. We went through a silent warm-up, and the only thing I said before the game was they had better be there to play. Then I was silent through the game, minus saying “sub 1” and “so-and-so youre in for so-and-so.” They got the point. And sure enough, won the game! Before game 2, the team apologized in a group, and finally got some words of wisdom from me. “It took your Coach not speaking to you during a game, to realize you know how to play as a team. You have what it takes, you just have to apply it and work together.” They didn’t end up winning the second game, but they did play harder. It was a rougher day in general, but I chalk it up to a learning experience and hope they will keep that in mind for the next tournament, which is this weekend. No rest for the weary!

We had a great weekend overall. I always look forward to having other teams play at the same facility with me, because it allows for the coaches to work together. We may not look like we are, but this was some serious conglomeration of athletic minds going on during these matches.

After a nice trip home with a delicious and nutritous dinner at Taco Bell, we arrived back in Birmingham to sleep in our own beds. Don’t get me wrong, I love being tall but it had its disadvantages and one of them is bed size. At the hotel, Coach Shelby and I, both being 6 feet tall, had at least a foot of leg hanging off the end of the bed and did NOT get a glorious nights sleep. I welcomes the sight of my fabulous bed in my apartment. Now back to the real world to get up in the morning and finish this Motion for Summary Judgment and Memorandum Brief in Opposition to turn in by 9am on Monday morning. Goodnight!

-SH

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Fit Chick Britt
    Feb 28, 2011 @ 00:49:16

    Such a good coach 🙂 I was totally watching “Say yes to the dress” at the gym today.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Disclaimer!!

My blog is nor professional advice. I'm not a chef, a nutritionist, a certified sports medicine professional or a lawyer (yet.) I'm just a girl who tries to cook healthy for herself, coaches off personal playing experience, lives by the law she knows and understands and blogs for enttertainment. Seek out a professional if you need help is any of the above categories. Thanks for reading!
